Dallas Cowboys sign Reserve/Future list players









By: Mark Lane (@therealmarklane)


FRISCO — A day after the Dallas Cowboys season ended with a 34-31 loss in the NFC Divisional playoffs to the Green Bay Packers at AT&T Stadium, the club announced its Reserve/Future list for the 2017 off-season.


Familiar faces Jameill Showers (Texas-El Paso) and Rod Smith (Ohio State) made the list as did long snapper Zach Woods (Southern Methodist).


Showers aspires to be a quarterback for the Cowboys, but the club has played him as a straight special teamer or a defensive back for the past two seasons with the club. 2017 is a big year for the 25-year-old out of Killeen Shoemaker as his practice squad eligibility is on the verge of expiration.


The full list of the Reserve/Future list is below:


From practice squad —

G Clay DeBord (Eastern Washington)

G Kadeem Edwards (Tennessee State)
WR Shaquelle Evans (UCLA)
LB Jeremiah George (Iowa State)
DE Lenny Jones (Nevada)
CB Sammy Seamster (Middle Tennessee)
DB Jameill Showers (Texas-El Paso)
RB Rod Smith (Ohio State)


From free agency —

TE Connor Hamlett (Oregon State)
CB Jeremiah McKinnon (Florida International)
CB Duke Thomas (Texas)
LS Zach Wood (Southern Methodist)