India Young, Brooklyn Brewer garner team accolades at Arkansas High awards banquet

TEXARKANA — Senior guard India Young and sophomore forward Brooklyn Brewer were named the team MVP and the Tina Flagg Leadership Award winner respectively Monday night at Arkansas High as part of the Texarkana Razorback Athletic Foundation’s awards banquet.

Ladybacks head coach Venture Watson says the consideration for Young as MVP went well beyond her status as the lone senior on the 2016-17 squad.

“It was because she was actually an All-Star nominee, which is big time, and she made All-State for girls basketball, which is also big time,” Watson explained. “Because All-State is basically all of 6A. She was one of only eight girls to make All-State, which is a great honor. So, I gave that to her.”

Young also took home the Girls Track MVP along with the Janice Pope Most Dedicated Female Athlete award at the banquet.

Said Watson: “I felt that since she had so many accolades that it was only fitting for her to continue with the accolades and get the MVP award.”

Brewer, one of Watson’s post players who sometimes would only have rebounds to show on the stat sheet, won the Tina Flagg Leadership Award due to her tremendous attitude on display during practice.

“Sometimes your leadership award isn’t always the young lady who scores the most points or the young lady that gets the most assists,” Watson said. “Brooklyn that was always going to bring her attitude to practice. The attitude that she brought every single time was a great attitude. She had the attitude that she wanted to be coachable. She wanted to get better. She always gave 110 percent. And she was an individual that she always came with a smile on her face.”

Watson is hopeful the 2017-18 girls basketball team will be inspired by Brewer’s great attitude and similarly come to practice every day wanting to be coachable and improve.

“If I had to pick anybody for someone young to look up to, it would be Brooklyn,” said Watson. “So, not only myself, but all the coaches agreed upon that she should be the Tina Flagg Award recipient.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.