Pleasant Grove’s Porchia, Gibson head TSWA All-State football teams

Pleasant Grove's
Nine Pleasant Grove football players and head coach Josh Gibson have been recognized on the 67th annual Colllin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association All-State football teams.


Named defensive player of the year on the 67th annual Collin Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association 4A All-State Football Team is Pleasant Grove’s Caleb Porchia.

The 4A Division II state champions are well represented, with nine players joining head coach Josh Gibson on the elite team. Gibson edged out Carthage’s Scott Surratt for coach of the year honors.

Pleasant Grove's
Pleasant Grove’s Josh Gibson¬† selected 4A’s coach of the year by the TSWA.

Porchia, offensive lineman Nick Gavriel and fullback T.J. Cole are first-team selections, while tight end Xavier Benson, defensive lineman Austin Toler and safety Cameron Wells have been named to the second team. Defensive lineman Landon Jackson and kicker Dillon Williams are on the third team, and receiver Carson Cox is among the honorable mentions.

“I’m just really proud of our football team; I’ve never been part of a program that had this many kids on an all-state team,” Gibson said. “This is why we finished 16-0. It’s great when you put in the hard work and get recognition.

“The state championship has spread our brand. Being selected by MaxPreps as one of the best 50 teams in the nation spreads your brand. When news outlets pick that up, it spreads our brand.”

Porchia sets school record for tackles

Porchia set a school record this past fall of with 194 tackles, earning a scholarship to Ouachita Baptist University. Gavriel is bound for Arkansas Tech, while Cole will join Porchia at OBU. Benton heads to Texas Tech, Toler to Harding University, and Wells to Southern Nazarene.

Tevailance Hunt, who recently signed with Texas Christian University, is a third-team pick for Texas High at wide receiver.

Also recognized by the TSWA are four Liberty-Eylau teammates. Tackle Kylar Cooks is a third-teams pick, while teammates Mahleik Darty, Decorian Phillips and Kentrell Chatmon are all honorable mention.

The Class 3A All-State Team released a day earlier includes players from DeKalb and Hughes Springs. DeKalb running back Jaquan Jackson and Hughes Springs fullback Tradarian Carver were first-team selections. Jackson rewrote the Bears’ record book last season with over 2,800 yards and 46 touchdown in 10 games.

The honorable mention list includes, Daingerfield’s Reggie Jeter and three players from Hughes Springs. The Mustangs are Harrison Reagan, Hunter Brabham and Zachary Pilgrim.

Two Linden-Kildare players join Maud’s Alex Sultz on the 2A All-State teams. The Tigers’ Ty Patterson is a first-teamer, while Ja’Kevian Rose is on the second-team. Sultz is on the third team. The honorable mention list includes L-K’s Davion Johnson and Jacob Owen. Maud’s Brooks Minter is also honorable mention.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.