Extraordinary Nurses Recognized at Christus St. Michael

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503


Extraordinary nurses recognized at Christus St. Michael. 

They are being honored with The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses®.

The award is part of the DAISY Foundation’s mission to recognize the extraordinary, compassionate nursing care they provide patients and families every day. CHRISTUS St. Michael also recognizes LPNs, CNAs and Patient Care Techs with the SUNSHINE Award.

The DAISY Award recipient for October was Matthew White, RN, ICU and for November was Vonya Tralor, RN.  The SUNSHINE Award recipient for October was Carla Williams, CNA, 5 South and for November was Rose Archie, LVN.

Gentry Chevrolet


The DAISY Foundation is a not-for-profit organization, established in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, by members of his family. Patrick died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), a little known but not uncommon auto-immune disease. (DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System.) The care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired this unique means of thanking nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patient families.

Nurses may be nominated by patients, families, and colleagues. The award recipients are chosen by a committee at CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System. Awards are presented throughout the year at celebrations attended by the Honoree’s colleagues, patients, and visitors. Each Honoree receives a certificate commending her or him as an “Extraordinary Nurse.” The certificate reads: “In deep appreciation of all you do, who you are, and the incredibly meaningful difference you make in the lives of so many people.”

Honorees also receive a DAISY Award or SUNSHINE Award pin and a beautiful and meaningful sculpture called A Healer’s Touch, hand-carved by artists of the Shona Tribe in Zimbabwe.

To nominate a caregiver for the CHRISTUS St. Michael DAISY or Sunshine Award, go to this website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.