Madubuike named to Nagurski and Outland watch lists

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503

Texas A&M LSU

By Matthew Callaway

OKLAHOMA CITY – Texas A&M’s Justin Madubuike has been named to the 2019 watch lists for the Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy, announced Tuesday by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, while the Outland Trophy is awarded to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman by the FWAA.

Madubuike, a junior defensive lineman from McKinney, Texas, has appeared in every game in each of the last two seasons. Madubuike is the leading returning tackler for the Aggies as he recorded 10.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks a season ago.

Shea Gutierrez walk-off Twins

Tuesday’s lists marked the second and third watch lists for Madubuike this season as he was added to the Bednarick Watch List last week.

The Nagurski Watch List includes 92 defensive standouts from 65 schools in all 10 Division I FBS conferences plus independents. Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. As in previous years, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday this season. If not already on the watch list, each week’s honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The Outland Watch List includes 83 exceptional interior lineman representing all 10 Division 1 FBS conferences and independents. The recipient of the 74th Outland Trophy will be announced during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12, live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the NFID Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee on Jan. 15, 2020. Up to eight semifinalists will be named on Nov. 20 in Omaha and three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25.

Texas A&M opens 2019 against Texas State on August 29 at Kyle Field, a Thursday night contest set to be broadcast on SEC Network.