A&M-Texarkana to Present Walthall Awards for Best Papers in History Courses

TEXARKANA, TexasTexas A&M University-Texarkana’s Department of History will award the 2019 Bennie Walthall Awards for the best research papers written in the university’s history courses on Thursday, September 26 at 12:00 pm.

The event will take place in the Tri-State Iron & Metal Atrium, located on the 3rd floor of the University Center building. The awards are made possible by a grant from the late Mr. Bennie Walthall of Texarkana, Ark., and will provide a total of $800 in prize money to three individuals.

The awardees for 2019 include two first-place winners and one second-place winner.

  • Abigail O’Gorman (1st Place) for Anglo American Racism During the Mexican War (prize: $300)
  • Melinda Zwirn (1st Place) for The Good Fight: The Effect of Black Chaplains in the Civil War (prize: $300)
  • David Zwirn (2nd Place) for Santa Doodle Dandy: Thomas Nast’s Santa Claus Drawings as Civil War Propaganda (prize: $200)

To be considered for an award the papers must have been a minimum of 1800 words and used a minimum of five sources, four of which had to be primary documents or peer- reviewed articles or books. This year’s papers were judged by Dr. James Presley.

For more information contact Dr. Michael Perri at michael.perri@tamut.edu or 903.223.3194


As a member of The Texas A&M University System, Texas A&M University-Texarkana is a comprehensive regional university that provides students with academically challenging, engaging and rewarding educational experiences through quality teaching, scholarship, student support services, co-curricular programming, research and service.