2019 Texas Rangers BBWAA award recipients announced

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503


The 2019 Texas Rangers team award recipients, selected in balloting by the Dallas-Fort Worth Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America, were announced today.

Player of the Year: INF-OF Danny Santana. In his first season as a Ranger, Santana batted a team best .283 with 28 home runs and 81 RBI in 130 games. Santana, who scored 81 runs and stole 21 bases, started games at every infield and outfield position.

Pitcher of the Year: LHP Mike Minor. A first-time A.L. All-Star selection, Minor was 14-10 with a 3.59 ERA in 32 starts. He finished among the A.L. leaders in innings (T4th, 208.1), ERA (6th), opp. BA (8th, .244), WHIP (10th, 1.238), and strikeouts (10th, 8.64).

Rookie of the Year: INF Nick Solak. Acquired from Tampa Bay on July 13, Solak batted .293 with 5 homers and 17 RBI in 33 games. He started 32 games after his recalled from Nashville on August 20 and posted a team best .884 OPS over the remainder of the season.

Harold McKinney Good Guy Award: OF-DH Shin-Soo Choo. In his six season with Texas, Choo batted .265 with 24 home runs and 61 RBI in 151 games. Choo led the Rangers in games, runs (93), doubles (31), walks (78), and on-base percentage (.371).

Richard Durrett Hardest Working Man Award: OF Willie Calhoun. The award is presented annually in the memory of longtime Rangers’ beat writer Richard Durrett to a player who demonstrates significant improvement over the previous seasons or seasons through hard work. Calhoun batted .269 with 21 homers and 48 RBI in 83 games. Beginning July 26, Calhoun led the Rangers with 16 homers and 36 runs scored over the rest of the season.

From Rangers PR staff reports