Paul Pewitt, Daingerfield have combined 13 picks on TSWA 3A All-State Teams

Paul Pewitt coach Triston Abron tells his players how proud he was of their performances during the 2019 football season. Gunter beat the Brahmas in last December's 3A Division II state championship game, 43-22.


WACO, Texas – Paul Pewitt and Daingerfield played two memorable football games last fall.

Daingerfield won a shootout in the regular season. The Brahmas won a rematch in the postseason, and got to play for the 3A Division II title at AT&T Stadium.

Gunter won that championship showdown. Still, the Brahmas and Tigers were big winners Tuesday when the Texas Sports Writers Association (TSWA) announced its 3A All-State Football Teams.

The Brahams and Daingerfield combined for 13 of the region’s 17 honorees.

Representing the runner up Brahmas on the first team are junior offensive guard Rhys Kelley. Senior fullback La-Jathan Allen, who received multiple votes for play of the year. Then there was senior linebacker Tanor Mines.


TSWA names three Pewitt players HM

Paul Pewitt also had three players receiving TSWA honorable mention. They are junior guard David Williams. Linebacker Colby Frost, and junior defensive back Kadrien Johnson.

Daingerfield’s lone first team selection is senior lineman Chad Reeves. Senior guard Tykelan Black is a second team pick. Third team selections are seniors receiver Tyrese Grant, running back Jakobie Craver, and linebacker Evan Peel. Junior center Bryce Ridenour is  honorable mention.

Marquiz Estell of Hooks is on the second team at defensive back. The Hornets were also represented by seniors Mason Vasquez at linebacker, and defensive back Benji Johnson.

Atlanta’s lone representative is senior guard Cade Fant.