TSWA names Landon Jackson Defensive Player of the Year on 4A All-State Team

Pleasant Grove junior Landon Jackson is the Texas Sports Writers Association 2019 Defensive Player of the Year in Class 4A. Above, Jackson gets a hug from assistant coach Steve Morris.


BRYAN, Texas – Pleasant Grove junior Landon Jackson (6-6, 240) has been named Defensive Player of the Year on the 2019 Texas Sports Writers Association Class 4A All-State Football team.

Jackson played a major role in leading the Hawks to their second 4A Division II State Championship in the last three years. He broke his own school record with 17 sacks, adding 22 tackles behind the line of scrimmage. Jackson piled up 111 tackles, and also had 22 quarterback pressures.

Junior Marcus Burris is a TSWA first team selection at defensive end.

In addition to Jackson, junior defensive end Marcus Burris (6-4, 262) was named to the first team defense. Burris was the Defensive MVP in the state championship game.

Five more Hawks named All-State

The Hawks also had two representatives on the second team. Junior offensive lineman Alex Murphy (6-3, 230), and senior running back Bruce Garrett (5-10, 190). Garrett rewrote Pleasant Grove’s record book in the rushing department.


Pleasant Grove was also represented on the third team. Senior quarterback Ben Harmon (6-1, 185), and junior linebacker Nick Martin (5-11, 190) were the picks there.

Also recognized by the TSWA was senior fullback K.J. Hicks (5-9, 175), who received honorable mention. Hick returned the opening kickoff for a touchdown in the Hawks’ title game with Wimberley.