PG yearbook staff earns 11th Pacemaker Award

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503

FRONT ROW: Mary Old, Brooklynn Bearden, Cage Watlington; SECOND ROW: Hailee Partin, Selena Lam, Catherine Wright, Emma Beck THIRD ROW: Hailey Whitten, Sydney Hopkins, Mikki Pope, Cara Court, Gracie McDougal, Jordan Poe, Macy Young FOURTH ROW: Kayla Wells, Kathryn Davis, Rachel Hemphill, Laura Beth Maddox, Presley Hargrove, Shannon Lee, Olivia Rochelle, Kyla Prinsen BACK ROW: Taylor Hicks, Katie Ferguson, Grace Pickelman, Alley Harjo, Madelyn Loar, Caylin Scates, Carleigh Scates

TEXARKANA ⁠— The Pleasant Grove High School yearbook staff earned its 11th Pacemaker Award, the independent school district announced Wednesday.

The National Scholastic Press Association named 62 yearbooks from 17 states as finalists for the Pacemaker competition on Dec. 19, 2019. In total, there were 442 student publications entered.

“The Hawk,” the name of Pleasant Grove’s yearbook, placed in the top 6% of student-produced publications in the country — 24 of the 62 finalists earned the Pacemaker Award.

The Hawk staff also earned the Gold Crown Award earlier in the spring from the Columbia Press Association. Editors for The Hawk in 2018-19 were Mary Old, Cage Watlington, and Brooklynn Bearden. The journalism department was advised by Charla Harris, 2019 National High School Yearbook Adviser of the Year.

The Hawk earned the Pacemaker Award on April 18, 2020, during the Journalism Education Association Awards, which were held virtually in place of the National High School Journalism Convention that was to take place in Nashville, Tenn.