Rangers announce Opening Day 2021 roster

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503


ARLINGTON, Texas – The Texas Rangers today announced the following transactions to reach the 26-man opening day roster limit to begin the 2021 season.

–RHP Matt Bush and INF Charlie Culberson selected from Triple-A Round Rock.

–LHP Kolby Allard recalled from Round Rock.

–RHP Demarcus Evans (right lat strain), LHP Brock Burke (recovering from left shoulder surgery), LHP Brett Martin (lower back tightness), LHP Joely Rodriguez (left ankle sprain), C Sam Huff (left hamstring strain), OF Willie Calhoun (left groin strain), and OF Khris Davis (left quad strain) placed on 10-day injured list, retroactive to March 29.

–RHP Hunter Wood and LHP Hyeon-jong Yang, non-roster players, assigned to Alternate Training Site.

–INF Rougned Odor designated for assignment.

With today’s moves, the Rangers have the limit of 40 players on their Major League roster.

Texas opens the 2021 season at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City this afternoon.

The Rangers’ five-man taxi squad for the Kansas City series will be RHP Hunter Wood, LHP Hyeon-jong Yang, catcher Drew Butera, infielder Anderson Tejeda, and outfielder Adolis Garcia.

From Rangers PR staff reports