Texas High Student Council earns National Gold Council of Excellence Award

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503


TEXARKANA — The Texas High School Student Council has earned the National Gold Council of Excellence Award from the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) for the 13th consecutive year.

The honor is bestowed on only 242 student councils in the country, of which there is an estimated 9,000. Texas High Student Council was recognized with the highly-esteemed award given for exemplary record of leadership, service and activities which improve school and community. In Texas, only 33 such student councils are honored. Texas High is one of two student councils in Texas to receive the award for 13 straight years.

“Receiving a National Gold Council of Excellence Award reflects the highest dedication on the part of the school to providing a strong, well-rounded student council program,” said Nara Lee, National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) Director of Student Leadership.  “NatStuCo applauds the work of the National Gold Councils of Excellence and challenges them to continue their leadership and service to their schools and communities.”

National Student Council (NatStuCo) provides and promotes professional development and leadership training to student council advisers who teach leadership skills to student council members. NatStuCo is dedicated to preparing and empowering student leaders to better serve their schools and communities.

To meet the requirements for the National Council of Excellence Award, a student council must meet a variety of criteria. In addition to basic requirements such as a written constitution, regular meetings, a democratic election process, the councils have demonstrated successful sponsorship and participation in activities such as leadership development and service to the school and community. Councils awarded the gold level of the award have successfully demonstrated the highest levels of leadership.

Advisors for Texas High School Student Council are Susan Waldrep, Emily Munn and Courtney Waldrep.