Texas Tech’s Jung a Dick Howser Trophy finalist

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503


By Ty Parker

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech baseball’s Jace Jung is one of five finalists for the 34th Dick Howser Trophy, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced Thursday.

The Dick Howser Trophy is awarded each season to the top player in collegiate baseball. Jung is joined on the list by Arkansas relief pitcher Kevin Kopps, Vanderbilt starters Jack Leiter and Kumar Rocker, and Florida State catcher Matheu Nelson.

Jung is the first Red Raider to be named a finalist for the award. Tech has had a semifinalist every season since 2017, including Steven Gingery (2017), Hunter Hargrove (2017), Josh Jung (2018), Grant Little (2018) and Josh Jung (2019). The trophy was not presented in 2020 due to the COVID-19 shortened season.

Jung was named Big 12 Player of the Year while leading the Red Raiders to another stellar season that has them advancing to their third consecutive NCAA Super Regional. He leads the Big 12 with 21 home runs, 67 RBI, and a .706 slugging percentage. His RBI total is the highest of any Power-5 player. Additionally, he accomplished the rare feat of reaching base safely in every game during the regular season.

This is the latest nod for Jung, who was a unanimous choice to the All-Big 12 First Team in addition to garnering Player of the Year honors. He was named First Team All-America by Collegiate Baseball Newspaper, is also a Golden Spikes Award semifinalist and a Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award finalist.

The winner will be announced on Friday, June 18, at a national news conference via Zoom prior to the 74th NCAA College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska.

Each finalist symbolizes the major principles of character, leadership, desire and competitive spirit exhibited by Dick Howser, the All-America shortstop, head coach at Florida State and manager of the 1985 World Series Champion Kansas City Royals. He also is the namesake of Florida State’s Dick Howser Stadium. The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser’s death.