Pleasant Grove High student journos score top national awards

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503

Back Row Left to Right: Isabelle Hackleman, Norah Jordan, Lauren Hornsby, Madison Davis, Hailey Epps, Linsa Lee, Mollie Hemphill, Edie Neal, Andy Hilton Middle Row: Jace Ramos, Brooklyn Gibson, Whitney Thornton, Madison Carpenter, Lexi Snyder, Caroline Maynard, Charla Harris (Adviser) Front Row: Tori Scoggins and Landry Trammell

TEXARKANA — Pleasant Grove High school student journalists took home top national awards at the Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) Crown Ceremony.

Columbia University presented the awards virtually on March 18. The 2021 editions of The Hawk yearbook and the Edge newspaper received the Gold Crown award, the most prestigious award given by the CSPA with more than 817 publications entering the competition. 2022 marked the 10th consecutive year The Hawk has won the Gold Crown. The Crown Awards honor top student publications chosen from CSPA’s members.

Crowns are selected for overall excellence in a head-to-head comparison. Student publishing in news, magazine, yearbook or digital (online) formats are all-eligible.


During Crown consideration, publications are judged on their excellence as shown by their design, photography, concept, coverage and writing.

The 2021 Pleasant Grove High School yearbook editors were Hailee Partin, Katie Ferguson, and Madilyn Morse.

Newspaper editors were Delia Tuttlebee, Delaynie Keeney and Alex Norton.

The journalism department is advised by Charla Harris, 2019 National High School Yearbook Adviser of the Year.