TASD recognizes distinguished alumni

Contact us:

3446 Summerhill Road
Texarkana TX 75503


According to a press release from TASD, Mr. Russell Sapaugh and Dr. LaShundra Watson are named 2023 Arkansas High School Distinguished Alumni.

In the first in-person Distinguished Alumni Reception since the COVID-19 pandemic, TASD honored their two new distinguished alumni. Sapaugh had been working in the district for 38 years, before retiring in 2013. He served a number of roles throughout the district, from teacher to principal to superintendent. Sapaugh is well-known for his “true rapport with people.” The press release states, “When you meet him, he has an easy smile, a firm handshake, and a story to share.”

Dr. Watson is a ’97 graduate from Arkansas High School. From there, she focused heavily on her education. The press release describes a number of her accolades. She attended the University of Central Arkansas, in Conway, Arkansas, graduated with honors, and obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Biology. After that, Dr. Watson worked in the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences’ Clinical Flow Cytometry Lab. Dr. Watson served the public by working as a frontline worker in the emergency department in hospital during the pandemic. According to the press release, Dr. Watson lives by a quote shared by her mother and grandmother: “Get your education, because can’t nobody take that from you.”

For more local and national news, visit Fox Sports Texarkana’s website.